Posted by: liturgicalyear | July 23, 2014

St. Brigid of Sweden

Today we celebrate the feast of Saint Bridget of Sweden, patron saint of Sweden and co-patron of Europe. I share with you today’s meditation from Magnificat which I found to be a necessary & timely reminder.  I believe you will as well. 

The Virgin Mary appeared to and said this to her:

“I, who speak to you, am the Queen of heaven. I am as it were, a gardener of this world. For when a gardener sees the rise of a strong wind harmful to the little plants and the trees of his garden, at once he runs to them quickly and binds them fast with sturdy stakes as well as he can. And thus he comes to their aid, in various ways according to his ability, lest they be broken by the rushing wind or wretchedly uprooted.

I, the Mother of mercy, do the same in the garden of this world. For when I see blowing on the hearts of human beings the dangerous winds of the devil’s temptations and wicked suggestions, at once I have recourse to my Lord and my God, my Son Jesus Christ, helping them with my prayers and obtaining from his outpouring of some holy infusions of the Holy Spirit into their hearts to prop them up and savingly confirm them that they may be kept spiritually uninjured by the diabolic wind of temptations lest the devil prevail against human beings, breaking their souls and plucking them up by the stem in accord with his wicked desire. And thus when, with humility of heart and active compliance, human beings receive these said stakes of mine and my assistance, at once they are defended against the diabolic onslaught or temptations; and remaining firm in the state of grace, they bear for God and for me the fruit of sweetness in due season.”

~Magnificat, July 23, 2014

In response, I conclude with this most excellent & powerful prayer, the Memorare:

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to thy protection, implored thy help, or sought thine intercession was left unaided.

Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto thee, O Virgin of virgins, my mother; to thee do I come, before thee I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in thy mercy hear and answer me.

Amen.

St Brigid of Sweden, pray for us!  Anne


Leave a comment

Categories