Posted by: liturgicalyear | June 19, 2014

Novena to the Sacred Heart of Jesus – Day 1

The Angelus (1857–59) by Jean-François Millet

Five months ago yesterday, my dad died unexpectedly.  On so many levels, life has never been the same since.

In the middle of May, after 22 years of being home with my children, I started working full-time. On so many levels, life has never been the same since.

One of the biggest adjustments I’ve had is that I haven’t been able to go to daily Mass. Before and after my dad’s death, the Eucharist was my daily bread. And I needed it so much more after his death.  Now, with the hours of my job and the length of my commute, I rarely make it to Mass.

I sometimes feel like I’m starving.

Like so many others in this work-a-day world, I struggle to be near to Jesus. Yet…I know he is always with me. He’s just harder to find because I have to pay more attention. I have to seek him in ways that are unfamiliar.

I seek him in the moments. I find him in my rosary when I arise at 5:30, so I can have some quiet time to pray. I find him in my commute when I exercise patience in the traffic. I pause and say his name when I go from my desk to get a cup of coffee. I call on the Holy Spirit in times when I need grace. My phone chimes at noon, “Angelus”, and at 3PM, “Hour of Mercy”. I bow my head and pray. Prayer is what keeps me connected to him.

One of the beauties of the Mass is its structure. I need structure. I need a novena!

The Feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus is on June 27, so I’m going to pray the novena to the Sacred Heart of Jesus to help me to find Jesus in the structure of prayer. For the next 9 days I will post this prayer, so that I can pray it. Perhaps that’s selfish because just like you, it arrives in my in-tray and reminds me to pray. But to be honest with you, that really doesn’t matter to me. I need help; perhaps you do too. The only thing that really matters is that we all find Jesus.

I invite you to pray with me every day for the next 9 days – that the merciful heart of Jesus will enfold the world in his care. We need it more than ever.

and…I must apologize that I am publishing this at 10pm on the first night of the novena.  Dinner was late tonight, too…

Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on us!  Anne

 

Efficacious Novena to the Sacred Heart of Jesus

I. O my Jesus, you have said: “Truly I say to you, ask and you will receive, seek and you will find, knock and it will be opened to you.” Behold I knock, I seek and ask for the grace of…… (here name your request)
Our Father….
Hail Mary….
Glory Be to the Father….

Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place all my trust in you.

II. O my Jesus, you have said: “Truly I say to you, if you ask anything of the Father in my name, he will give it to you.” Behold, in your name, I ask the Father for the grace of…….(here name your request)
Our Father…
Hail Mary….
Glory Be To the Father….

Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place all my trust in you.

III. O my Jesus, you have said: “Truly I say to you, heaven and earth will pass away but my words will not pass away.” Encouraged by your infallible words I now ask for the grace of…..(here name your request)
Our Father….
Hail Mary….
Glory Be to the Father…

Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place all my trust in you.

Sacred Heart of Jesus, for whom it is impossible not to have compassion on the afflicted, have pity on us miserable sinners and grant us the grace which we ask of you, through the Sorrowful and Immaculate Heart of Mary, your tender Mother and ours.

Say the Hail, Holy Queen and add: St. Joseph, foster father of Jesus, pray for us.   ~ St. Margaret Mary Alacoque

 Padre Pio recited this novena every day for all those who requested his prayers. (source)

Leave a Reply

Categories

