Posted by: liturgicalyear | May 19, 2014

The gift of Work and the Blessed Trinity

After 22 years of being a full-time mom, I am returning to the work force today. It’s a weird set of feelings – excitement for what’s ahead and a bit of sadness for what is left behind. I guess it’s that way with many things in life.

Yesterday morning, my husband and I went for a walk around the common in my small town. An annual fair was set up and about to begin as we strolled by. I watched the moms walking hand in hand with their little girls, parents with strollers weighed down with diaper bags and drinks, excited children anticipating the day ahead. A wistful smile covered my face, “It went so fast,” I thought to myself, remembering our family trips to the fair and recalling my daughter’s college graduation just 7 days before.

Life moves on. It has a way of going very quickly.  “The days are long, but the years are short,” I once heard it said. How very, very true.

So today, as I begin a new work to which the Lord has called me, I share with you a reflection I read a few weeks ago from one of my faves, Caryll Houselander.  I share it with you today as I head off into this new chapter of life, and as we all head into the day doing the work to which God calls us.  I pray that you will find joy in your work.

“I have come that you might have life, and have it more abundantly.” (Jn 10:10)

Mary, our mother, pray for us!  Anne

The whole world was created because of the love between the three Persons of the Blessed Trinity; the earth was created to be the womb and the cradle of Christ. Every human being was, in the Creator’s love, “another Christ.” When the Spirit breathed upon the waters, the breath was the sighing of utter love of the Holy Spirit; when God said, “Let there be light,” the light was the shadow of that Light which was to shine in darkness, already the radiance of his Eternal Light.

The meaning of Creation is love; God created for love, and what he created is love.

It is this part of the mystery that should reform our idea of work. We cannot make works of art in the narrow sense, but we can all be artists and creators: in our attitude to our work we can make what we make first of all for love…

The whole life of every worker should make love. All work should be an act of creative love…

Each individual who does renew his own spirit to work with this ideal does do something; in fact, he does a great deal to bring about the reform of the world’s work, which is a basic necessity for human happiness, and this because no one can have this idea of work without getting some joy out of his own work, and, if thought is not always infections, joy is. But before all else, when work becomes contemplation, man learns to know the joy of the love of the Blessed Trinity through his own experience; learns it from his own heart, making his own world one in which Christ is made new. He possesses himself of the inexpressible mystery of the Creator’s joy in making a new world that is to cradle Christ.  (Magnificat, May, 2014)

Leave a Reply

Categories

