Posted by: liturgicalyear | December 31, 2013

Gloria in excelsis Deo!

I got a kiss from heaven today!

Since starting a new job almost a month ago, I haven’t been able to go to daily Mass.  I can’t tell you how much I miss it!  My soul aches.  It simply aches for Jesus in the beauty of the Mass and the intimacy of Holy Communion.  But today, because I’m working at home and for only a half day, I would be able to make it to Mass.

After praying my morning rosary and consuming sufficient coffee to be vertical, I asked the Lord which Mass I should attend – the 8am in a neighboring town or the 9am in my own parish.  Going to an earlier Mass means an earlier start, and therefore an earlier end, to my workday. Nonetheless, the Lord directed me to the 9.

My heart was full of anticipation and joy and praise. The daily readings during the Octave of Christmas are absolutely beautiful, and I listen to them each year as if with new ears.

Entering the Church, the celebrant’s familiar voice moved me with gratitude.  “Thank you, Lord, that I can be here today.”

Praying the Gloria inspired such great praise that I struggled to contain myself.  I wanted to lift my hands in praise to God, the almighty, who gave us His son.  I wanted to shout to the Lord and to sing before the Lord, my maker, to proclaim my love for him in the vast assembly.  But… that probably wouldn’t have worked for the rest of the congregation, so in humble adoration, I quietly placed it before his throne.

The psalmist proclaims:

Sing to the LORD a new song;
sing to the LORD, all you lands.
Sing to the LORD; bless his name;
announce his salvation, day after day.

Let the heavens be glad and the earth rejoice;
let the sea and what fills it resound;
let the plains be joyful and all that is in them!
Then shall all the trees of the forest exult before the LORD.
(Ps 96:1-2,11-12)

I silently join in the heavens’ gladness and the earth’s rejoicing.

Then it happened. 

The gospel.  A reading from the beginning of the holy Gospel according to John.   My heart skipped a beat, “Glory to You, O Lord.”

I don’t know why, but this scripture always moves something deep, deep inside me and connects me in a palpable way to intimacy with God. I know most of it by heart…

In the beginning was the Word…and the Word was with God…and the Word was God…

Suddenly music flooded my soul consuming my heart as like fire. Lyrics. Melodies. Harmonies.

What came to be through him was life, and this life was the light of the human race…

Violins. Piano.

… the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it…

Crescendo. Diminuendo.

He was in the world, and the world came to be through him, but the world did not know him… 

Forte. Pianissimo.

…to those who did accept him he gave power to become children of God…

Eyes closed, tears poured down my cheeks all the way to my neck. I felt as though the angels came and joined my inner song. “I am your child.”

Music has a way of expressing something in me where words cannot suffice.  My heart sang through the rest of Mass, and once again Jesus took my breath away when I received him in the Eucharist.  “O Magnum Mysertium.”

Mass concluded with these beautiful words:

May your people, O Lord,
whom you guide and sustain in many ways,
experience, both now and in the future,
the remedies which you bestow,
that, with the needed solace of things that pass away,
they may strive with ever deepened trust for things eternal.
Through Christ Our Lord.

Amen!

Gloria in excelsis Deo!  Anne

Leave a Reply

Categories

