Posted by: liturgicalyear | December 18, 2013

Music for the week before Christmas

I love music, and I always have a song in my heart & in my head.  Of course, this time of year, it’s hard to go anywhere and not hear Christmas carols, but the music that fills my heart this time of year, during this week before Christmas, is Advent music.  After all, that’s our season!

Certain songs draw me deeper into the mystery of the season and the incarnation, and I pray them – with joy, sorrow, and wonder.

Today and over the next week I invite you to pray these songs with me and let them draw you closer to Jesus as he is born anew in us.

Come, O come, Emmanuel!  Anne

Joseph’s Song by Michael Card

Immanuel by Michael Card

Joseph’s Lullaby by MercyMe

O Magnum Mysterium by Lauridsen

Breath of Heaven by Amy Grant

Emmanuel by Amy Grant

The Promise by Michael Card

Love Has Come by Amy Grant

My Grown Up Christmas List by Amy Grant

Mary Did You Know? by Mark Lowry

Heirlooms by Amy Grant

And the Glory of the Lord by Handel

Hallelujah Chorus by Handel

 

Responses

  1. I just found you blog & it is such a delight! Thank you so very much & I am very much looking forward to a wonderful afternoon or two where I can read
    thru all of your posts — wishing you all well during this wonderful Christmas
    Season!

    • Welcome! I pray our writing blesses you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

