Posted by: liturgicalyear | December 11, 2013

Bless the Lord, O My Soul!

 

Many, many times when I get stuck in the muck, I recall to mind today’s psalm,

Bless the LORD, O my soul;
and all my being, bless his holy name.
Bless the LORD, O my soul,
and forget not all his benefits. 
He pardons all your iniquities,
he heals all your ills.
He redeems your life from destruction,
he crowns you with kindness and compassion.
Merciful and gracious is the LORD,
slow to anger and abounding in kindness.
Not according to our sins does he deal with us,
nor does he requite us according to our crimes.

During those times when I need to remind myself to pull myself out of a pending pity party or stinking thinking that drags me down, verse 2 is the one that I say right out loud, “Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits. “

Oh, how easy it can be to forget His benefits!

It usually happens when we get busy and our prayer life starts to slip and our attention to growing in virtue wanes.

We forget that he pardons all our iniquities and heals all our ills; that he redeems our life from destruction and crowns us with kindness and compassion; that he does not deal with us according to our sins or our crimes.

Why do we forget?  I contend that it is because we miss the first line, “Bless the Lord, O my soul; and all my being, bless his holy name.”

When we praise the Lord, we lift our hearts to heaven and we remember the goodness of God.  When we bless his holy name, we open our hearts to the workings of the Holy Spirit and we grow in holiness.

So today, and in the days ahead, as life speeds up and time gets crunched, bless his holy name and stay rooted in the reason for the season.

O Come, O Come, Emmanuel!  Anne

Leave a Reply

Categories

