Posted by: liturgicalyear | October 7, 2013

Our Lady of the Rosary

 

Today we celebrate the Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary. Today’s Magnificat gives us a beautiful reflection from Pope John Paul I entitled the “Graces of the Rosary”.  As a devotee of the Rosary, my heart quickened when I read it.  For those of you who have already read this meditation, I beg your indulgence as I share it with you today.

Our Lady of the Rosary, pray for us!  Anne

Windthorst, a German, was invited one time by certain friends not practicing the Faith, to show them his beads; it was a joke; they had previously taken them from his left pocket.  Windthorst, not having found them in his left pocket, put his hand in his right pocket and came out the victor. He always had an extra rosary! Cristofero Gluck, a great musician, during court receptions in Vienna, used to go apart a few minutes to recite his rosary…

Why do I give these examples of people reciting the Rosary? Because the rosary is contested by some. They say: it is a prayer that is infantile, superstitious, and not worthy of a Christian adult. Or else, it is a prayer that is automatic, reduced to a hasty repetition of Ave Marias, monotonous and boring.

The crisis of the rosary is in second place. Before that, it is the crisis in prayer in general today. People are all taken up in material interests.  One thinks little about the soul…Donoso Cortés said, “The world is in a bad way because there are more battles than prayers…”

To be, for a half hour at least, before God as I am in reality, with all my misery and with the best of myself; to let rise to the surface from the depths of my being the child I once was, who wants to laugh, to chatter, to love the Lord, and who sometimes feels the need to cry so that he may be shown mercy, helps me to pray. The rosary, a simple and easy prayer, helps me to be a child and I am not ashamed at all.

I come to another objection. The rosary is a prayer of repetition? Father de Foucauld said, “Love is expressed with few words, always the same and always repeated.”

~ Pope John Paul I
Magnificat, Oct, 2013, Vol 15, No. 8,  pp. 110-111

Responses

  1. After reading this my husband and I said the rosary. October 7 kept niggling at me and I didn’t know why. Now I do. I remember the family rosaries every night – even boyfriends had to get down on their knees and say it with us. Thank you, Anne


Leave a Reply

Categories

