Posted by: liturgicalyear | October 1, 2013

St. Thérèse of Lisieux

Today we celebrate the feast of St. Thérèse of Lisieux, one of the most well-known and popular saints of the twentieth century, and perhaps in Church history.  She wrote of her “little way“, the surest, quickest way to holiness is complete reliance on the love of God – to do everything out of love.  Much has been written of her life, and you can read of it here and here. I thought I’d rather share with you some beautiful quotes from this simple young woman, a powerhouse of faith!

Probably the most famous of her quotes is “When I die, I will send down a shower of roses from the heavens, I will spend my heaven by doing good on earth.”  This is why so many people turn to her, because a sign of her intercession is the roses she sends.  Let’s face it…sometimes we all need a sign, and it’s very common that one receives or sees roses at the end of her novena.

I encourage you to drink in these quotes deeply.  Take the one that speaks to you most poignantly and ponder it in your heart.  Bring it with you as you go about your day, asking St. Thérèse to help you to grow in love for God and in purity of heart.

St. Thérèse of Lisieux, pray for us!  Anne

 

“If I did not simply live from one moment to another, it would be impossible for me to be patient, but I only look at the present, I forget the past, and I take good care not to forestall the future.”

“Miss no single opportunity of making some small sacrifice, here by a smiling look, there by a kindly word; always doing the smallest right and doing it all for love.”

“Without love, deeds, even the most brilliant, count as nothing.”

“When one loves, one does not calculate.”

“Trust and trust alone should lead us to love”

“Do you realize that Jesus is there in the tabernacle expressly for you – for you alone? He burns with the desire to come into your heart… don’t listen to the demon, laugh at him, and go without fear to receive the Jesus of peace and love…”

“I am convinced that one should tell one’s spiritual director if one has a great desire for Communion, for Our Lord does not come from Heaven every day to stay in a golden ciborium; He comes to find another heaven, the heaven of our soul in which He loves to dwell.”

“For me, prayer is a surge of the heart; it is a simple look turned toward heaven, it is a cry of recognition and of love, embracing both trial and joy.”

“Holiness consists simply in doing God’s will, and being just what God wants us to be.”

“A word or a smile is often enough to put fresh life in a despondent soul.”

“God would never inspire me with desires which cannot be realized; so in spite of my littleness, I can hope to be a saint.”

“And it is the Lord, it is Jesus, Who is my judge. Therefore I will try always to think leniently of others, that He may judge me leniently, or rather not at all, since He says: “Judge not, and ye shall not be judged.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

