Posted by: liturgicalyear | September 12, 2013

The Daily Grind

I pray with a group of women who all have kids in college. One of the moms who still has younger children under her roof lamented the arrival of September and the challenge to embrace the waning sunlight, the cooling days, and the hectic schedule. “Aw, the first full week of school. That gloomy feeling that summer is over and we are back to the ‘grind’ (work, practices, dinner menu, school lunches, ‘why didn’t you buy more Gatorade?’, always watching the clock kinda grind.)” That got me thinking…

How many mornings do we all grouse against the daily grind?  As I read her words, a few thoughts came to mind.  I thought I’d share them.  In no particular order….

I’m comatose in the morning until I’ve had my first cup of coffee…seriously don’t even bother talking to me!  But I ask you, where is the flavor of coffee without the grind?  The hard shell of the bean is removed and the flavor is released by action of the grind.  I contend the same exists for us.  Our hard shell has to be removed to release the goodness inside.

God calls to become holy in our daily duty as servants to those he has entrusted to our care.  When I find myself grumbling under the grind, I find the best remedy it to develop an “attitude of gratitude”.  Take each action that grates us as a gift:

  • Work – thank you, Lord, that I have work today; I pray for those who have lost their jobs or are in fear of losing them; lead them to gainful employment and peace in your provision;
  • Practices – thank you, Lord, for my healthy children; I pray for those who are disabled or injured and who are limited by their bodies, especially for our wounded soldiers; Lord given them strength and heal them;
  • Dinner menu – thank you, Lord, that my children will not go hungry today; I pray for those who will go without food today; lead them to people who will help them and inspire those hearts with generosity
  • School lunches – thank you, Lord, that my children have the opportunity to learn; I pray for those children throughout the world who would like be educated but cannot be; Lord infuse in their hearts knowledge of you and of Divine Wisdom;
  • “Why didn’t you buy more Gatorade?”  – thank you, Lord, that I can just run to the grocery store to get what I need; I pray for those who do not have enough money to simply provide for their children in this way; Lord fill them with hope in you;
  • Always watching the clock – thank you, Lord, for the gift of time and for sanctifying time by sending Jesus into it; I pray that I will use today’s gift of time wisely and according to your will; Help me Lord to hear your voice and respond to your call.

We have so much for which to be thankful.  Running water, flush toilets, electricity…  Can you imagine beating the laundry against a rock at the river’s edge?  (that’s the one that always comes to my mind.)  When we fix our eyes on Jesus and the magnitude of the gift, our days can be transformed.

Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good.  His mercy endures forever! Anne

“In all circumstances give thanks, for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus.” (1Thess 5:18)

 34 scriptures that remind us to give thanks to God

Responses

  1. As always, a wonderful reminder to stay on track with our thinking, so that everything else stays on track. Thank-you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

