Posted by: liturgicalyear | September 5, 2013

Sunday’s Collect

The “Collect” of the mass is the prayer that takes place just after the Gloria and before the scripture readings.  Over the past year or so, I’ve found them gaining my attention more and more.  I guess they always seemed perfunctory to me before, or maybe it’s the new translation of the Mass that has me paying more attention, whatever the reason, I find them increasingly more rich, and I ponder them frequently in the day(s) to follow.

The beauty of this week’s collect captured my heart in the first line:

God of might, giver of every good gift,
put into our hearts the love of your name,
so that, by deepening our sense of reverence,
you may nurture in us what is good
and, by your watchful care,
keep safe what you have nurtured.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son,
who lives and reigns with you in the unity
    of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.

Everything we are and everything we have are all gift – gift from the greatest and most generous giver, the maker of the universe and our creator.  The one who made us and makes us new puts these gifts into our lives and will continue to guard them and make them grow if we but ask him to nurture in us what is good and then guard what he has nurtured.

So today, I invite you to look around at the good gifts God has given you.  Thank him, and ask him to nurture your love for him through them and to keep safe what he nurtures in you.

Jesus, I trust in You!  Anne

Responses

  1. Anne, just getting to this post today (Sunday), and am pleasantly surprised to find I was struck by the same prayer. Specifically, I am reminded that God has created good in each person, and nurtures that good, working both with individuals (meeting us where we are) and in groups of the faithful. It brings me up short, remembering the times I have ignored that good in others, or short changed the potential good, when I judge or dismiss people as less than I expect. Thank you, Anne, for being a part of God’s call to nurture one another!
    – Deb F.


Leave a Reply

Categories

