Posted by: liturgicalyear | February 13, 2013

Ash Wednesday sermons from the Saints

As I struggle to write on Ash Wednesday today, my words feel rather hollow.  So I thought about tapping into the rich history of the church to see what the saints have said through the ages.  I immediately thought of one of my faves, St. Francis de Sales.  I found a great homily he gave in the 1600’s, but it is much too long to post here.  So, I thought I should simply post the links into the minds of the greats of the Church whose wisdom is ever ancient and ever new.

I encourage you to make and take the time to pray to the Holy Spirit and ask which you should read so that this will be a fruitful time.

I pray this Lent will be a grace filled time for you and those for whom you pray,  Anne

St.Francis de Sales, On Fasting, Doctor of Charity

Daily readings from St. John Vianney, Cure of Ars

St. Augustine, an Ash Wednesday homily, Doctor of Grace

St. Peter Chrysologus,

Pope Benedict XVI’s Ash Wednesday homily from last year

Ash Wednesday meditation from St. Thomas Aquinas, Angelic Doctor

St. Lawrence of Brindisi, Apostolic Doctor

Leave a Reply

Categories

