Posted by: liturgicalyear | November 8, 2012

Saint Faustina: The power of prayer and suffering

As hurricane Sandy made its way through New England on the morning of October 29, 2012, I sat quietly and prayed in my bedroom.  After my rosary, I was led to a certain set of passages in St. Faustina’s diary, Divine Mercy in My Soul. Lately, I have been more and more drawn and lead to read and contemplate and live this message of mercy. I began slowly drinking in the richness of the word in entries 701-709. Then when I got to entry 709, I gasped. Jesus’ words just took my breath away.

I share them with you today in the hopes that you will make them your own and never underestimate the power of prayer or suffering.

My Jesus, I trust in you! Anne

Diary entry 709 (Jesus’ words in bold)

October 3, 1936. During the rosary today, I suddenly saw a ciborium with the Blessed Sacrament. The ciborium was uncovered and quite filled with hosts. From the ciborium came a voice: These hosts have been received by souls converted through your prayer and suffering. At this point, I felt God’s presence as a child would; I felt strangely like a child.

Leave a Reply

Categories

