Posted by: liturgicalyear | October 2, 2012

The Guardian Angels

As I finished up the dinner dishes last night, I was thinking about the feast day we celebrate today, the feast of the Guardian Angels.  I stopped and asked my 17-year old daughter, “How cool is it that everywhere we go, there are angels all around us?”  My thoughts continued, “Did you ever think about that?  Isn’t it cool that you have an angel right beside you all the time?  Did you ever think about that???”  Based on her response, I could tell that I was the only one in the house going down that line of thinking yesterday evening.

So, I guess I’ll ask you:  do you ever think about the fact that your guardian angel is right there beside you; that all you have to do is acknowledge his presence and you magnify his intercession; or that your angel is God’s personal gift to you?

Now think for a minute about how many people live in your house.  When we are all home, there are 4 of us.  Plenty of room for 4 guardian angels.  My sisters both have 7 kids each.  That’s 9 guardian angels around the dinner table!  My exended family of 32 dines for Thanksgiving dinner here.  Such a crowded house!!!  They are huge and unnoticeable at the same time.  Omnipresent and unnoticed.  Such a paradox.

And yet!  It is we, though, that have the power to bring their presence to the foreground or leave it quietly in the back.  How often I go about my business unaware of their presence.  How often I don’t pay any attention to them for days.  What a waste!

That got me thinking…I’m sure the saints have plenty of advice concerning this topic.  I wondered what some of the saints have said about the guardian angels.  So, I found some quotes from two of my favorite saints, St. Padre Pio and St. John Vianney, and I thought I’d share them with you.  Theyre a little long, but I’m sure you’ll enjoy them as much as I.

Angel of God, my guardian dear, to whom God’s love commits me here.   Ever this day be at my side, to light and guard, to rule and guide. Amen.  Anne

From St. Padre Pio:

… never forget the Guardian Angel who is always with you, never leaving you, whatever wrong you might do. Oh, the ineffable goodness of our good Guardian Angel! How many times—alas!—I have made him cry for not having wanted to comply with his wishes, which were also God’s. May this, our most faithful friend, free us from further disloyalty. ( no. 41)

Well, know that he is still powerful against Satan and his minions; his charity has not diminished, nor will he ever fail in defending us. Develop the beautiful habit of always thinking of him; that near us is a celestial spirit, who, from the cradle to the tomb, does not leave us for an instant, guides us, protects us as a friend, a brother; will always be a consolation to us, especially in our saddest moments.

…this good Angel prays for you; offers to God all the good works you accomplish; your holy and pure desires. In the hours when you seem to be alone and abandoned, do not complain of not having a friendly soul to whom you can unburden yourself and in whom you can confide your sorrows. For pity’s sake, do not forget this invisible companion, always present to listen to you, always ready to console you.

Invoke often this Guardian Angel, this benevolent Angel and repeat the beautiful prayer:  Angel of God, my guardian dear, to whom God’s love commits me here.   Ever this day be at my side, to light and guard, to rule and guide. AMEN.

What will be the consolation when, at the moment of death, your soul will see this Angel, so good, who accompanied you through life and was so liberal in maternal care. Oh may this sweet thought make you grow always more fond of the Cross of Jesus, this being also what your good Angel wants. May the desire to see this inseparable companion arouse in you that charity which incites you to leave this body quickly.

Oh what a holy and salutary thought it is to want to see our good Angel. It is this thought which should make us want to leave this dark prison in which we are bound… I treat this dear little Angel, I do not say as a friend, but as one of the family. And, to tell you the truth, this little Angel does not seem to be the least little bit offended by my treatment of him. How dear and how good he is. (Letters vol. II, no. 64)

Invoke your Guardian Angel that he illuminate you and will guide you. God has given him to you for this reason. Therefore use him! ~ Send me your Guardian Angel—he doesn’t have to pay a ticket for the train and he doesn’t wear out his shoes.  (source)

And from St. John Vianney:

Our Guardian Angels are our most faithful friends, because they are with us day and night, always and everywhere. We ought often to invoke them.

The Angels take great pleasure in helping us with our enterprises, when they are in accordance with God’s will.

If you find it impossible to pray, hide behind your good Angel and charge him to pray in your stead.

The devil writes down our sins—our Guardian Angel all our merits. Labor that the Guardian Angel’s book may be full, and the devil’s empty.

If you invoke the Blessed Virgin when you are tempted, she will come at once to your help, and Satan will leave you.

With what humility should we assist at Mass, if we realized that our Guardian Angel was kneeling beside us, prostrate before the majesty of God! With what eagerness should we not ask him to offer our prayers to Jesus Christ !

After thanking our Guardian Angel who has remained by our side during our sleep, we should ask him for his protection during the day.

How happy is that Guardian Angel who accompanies a soul to Holy Mass!

We must take great care never to do anything before having said our Morning Prayers…. The devil once declared…that if he could have the first moment of the day, he was sure of all the rest. (Sermon on the First Commandment)

What a comfort to you it is to know that when we go out of the house, we are never alone en route. (Sermon on the Feast of the Guardian Angels)

When we are walking in the streets, let us fix our eyes on Our Lord bearing his Cross before us; on the Blessed Virgin who is looking at us; on our Guardian Angel who is by our side. (Catechism on Self-Control)

When you awake in the night, transport yourself quickly in spirit before the Tabernacle, saying: “Behold me, my God, I come to adore You, to praise, thank, and love You, and to keep You company with all the angels.”

It is our angels who ask God to grant us a deep sorrow for our sins. (Sermon on Feast of Guardian Angels)

If we did like St. Remigius, we should never be angry. Being questioned by a Father of the desert as to how he managed to be always in an even temper, replied: “I often consider that my Guardian Angel is always by my side…..”

If we could only see the JOY of our Guardian Angel when he sees us fighting our temptations! (On temptation)  (source)

Encyclopedia has a good article on the Guardian Angels

Novena to the guardian angels

Another novena to the guardian angels

Leave a Reply

Categories

