Posted by: liturgicalyear | September 20, 2012

Divine Mercy

On the way to my weekly Holy Hour last night, I asked the Lord to show me what he wanted me to write about today, and then I waited.  After praying for a while, I was led to St. Faustina’s Diary, Divine Mercy in my Soul, entry 717 and following.

As I read and meditated on it, I was once again reminded directly and poignantly:  all we have is mercy.

A friend of mine who is a good and holy woman had repeated struggles in her life over the course of many years.  When her son was diagnosed with leukemia, someone asked her, “Why you?”  She promptly replied, “Why not?”

I remember being taken aback by her response.  She continued, “None of us deserves anything.  We are all sinners.  Anything we have is pure mercy.”

Trust is defined as reliance on the integrity, strength, ability, surety of a person or thing; confident expectation of something; hope.  In these days when the world feels so tenuous, Jesus calls us to trust in him more and more.  We must turn to God in total surrender, in complete confidence of his love for us.  When we do, he pours out his graces on us and upon the whole world.

My Jesus, I trust in you!  Anne

Divine Mercy in My Soul, 717-719 (Jesus’ words in bold)

All night long, I was preparing to receive Holy Communion, since I could not sleep because of physical suffering. My soul was flooded with love and repentance.

After Holy Communion, I heard these words:- You see what you are of yourself, but do not be frightened at this. If I were to reveal to you the whole misery that you are, you would die of terror. However, be aware of what you are. Because you are such great misery, I have revealed to you the whole ocean of My mercy. I seek and desire souls like yours, but they are few. Your great trust in Me forces Me to continuously grant you graces. You have great and incomprehensible rights over My Heart, for you are a daughter of complete trust. You would not have been able to bear the magnitude of the love which I have for you if I had revealed it to you fully here on earth. I often give you a glimpse of it, but know that this is only an exceptional grace from Me. My love and mercy knows no bounds.

Today, I heard these words: Know, my child, that for your sake I grant blessings to this whole vicinity. But you ought to thank Me on their behalf, as they do not thank Me for the kindnesses I extend to them. For the sake of your gratitude, I will continue to bless them.

Responses

  1. What a wonderful post. Thanks for sharing it. St. Faustina is my “patron” Saint and has taught me more about the mercy and compassion of God, then I have ever known. A wonderful Saint of prayers she has been for me also. Thanks for sharing and God Bless, SR

    • SR, I’m so glad St. Faustina’s words blessed you. Her Diary is so rich and the message of mercy so incomprehensible. I really believe that one day she will be declared a Doctor of the Church. God bless! Anne


Leave a Reply

Categories

