Posted by: liturgicalyear | August 14, 2012

Saint Maximilliam Kolbe

Today we celebrate the feast of St. Maximillian Kolbe, a holy Franciscan friar who gave his life for another man condemned to death in Auschwitz.  St. Maximillian’s life and history are known to many, and I refer you to SQPN to read about his life.

I wish to the words of St. Maximillian with you – a beautiful reflection from today’s Magnificat.  For those of you who have already read it, I beg your indulgence.  For those of you who have not, I pray it blesses you as it blesses me.  I so needed this reminder!

St. Maximillian Kolbe, pray for us!  Anne

How many times have we heard resigned or even desperate expressions such as:  I can’t succeed; I can’t make it; I lack the strength!

Undoubtedly, in the physical field the energies we have are limited: it would be useless for someone to try to lift a weight of a few tons with only one hand.

But also in the moral field, we sometimes happen to hear this same lament: I cannot get rid of this fault; I’m too weak to decide to acquire this virtue; this is too much for me!

But is it really true we cannot make it, as we claim?

If we listen to Saint Paul, he expressedly says:  “…I have strength for everything!”  Still, the complete phrase says: “In him who is the source of my strength…I have strength or everything!” (Phil 4:13).  And, “For apart from me,” Jesus himself says, “you can do nothing” (Jn 15:5).

And why?

Because if God asks something from us, he surely provides us with the energy we need to carry out his will, on condition that we do not neglect to do our part.

We require God’s grace in order to function, and our soul can surely obtain that grace through prayer.

At our disposal there is someone through whom we can easily and surely obtain this: the Mediatrix of all graces.  All that is required is that we really accept her and keep always closer to her, that we love her always more ardently in every temptation, difficulty, or trouble, acknowledging her power, her universal mediation next to God, and that we turn to her with total confidence.

Then we too shall be capable of everything, but in him who gives us the strength through the Immaculate.   (Magnificat, Vol. 14, No. 6, pp 175-176)

Responses

  1. So beautiful, …just what I needed to hear right now! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

