Posted by: liturgicalyear | May 11, 2012

Love one another as I have loved you

Today’s gospel reminds us very directly how simple Jesus’ message is.  Yet, we know how difficult it can be to live.

Jesus said to his disciples:
“This is my commandment: love one another as I love you.
No one has greater love than this,
to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.
You are my friends if you do what I command you.
I no longer call you slaves,
because a slave does not know what his master is doing.
I have called you friends,
because I have told you everything I have heard from my Father.
It was not you who chose me, but I who chose you
and appointed you to go and bear fruit that will remain,
so that whatever you ask the Father in my name he may give you.
This I command you: love one another.”  Jn 15:12-17

If we could take this last phrase, “Love one another,” and make it our daily mantra, how would it transform our days?  If we remember that it was not we who chose Him, but He who chose us, how would the limits of our love disappear?  If we actually love one another as Jesus loves us, how would the lives of those around us be blessed by our presence?

I encourage you to make these words come alive in you today.  He chose you and me before all time to be in time at this point in time to make His love known.  Proclaim it boldly by how you love because “love never fails.” (1Cor 13:8)

Alleluia!  Alleluia!  He is Risen!  Anne

Leave a Reply

Categories

