Posted by: liturgicalyear | March 29, 2012

Our Guardian Angels

This past Sunday, I went to a talk entitled, “Angels and Demons” by Peter Kreeft, professor of Philosophy at Boston College.  I’ve heard him speak many times before and I always enjoy it because he makes me think.  Not a particularly dynamic speaker, he’s not every one’s cup of tea, but what I find most engaging about his talks is his methodical, logical manner of presenting his argument – indeed a rare breed of discussion these days.

I’ve noticed over the past week or so that angels have been coming up in the daily Mass readings – yesterday an angel appeared with Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego in the fiery furnace; two days early, the angel Gabriel visited Mary in the annunciation; the day before that, this past Sunday people mistook the voice of God speaking from heaven as coming from an angel; four days before that an angel showed Ezekiel the entrance to the temple; and the day before that on the feast of St. Joseph, an angel appeared to Joseph in a dream.  Angels are throughout scripture – and they are all around us.

Particularly our guardian angels.  Professor Kreeft talked about our guardian angels being with us in heaven.  I had never heard nor thought about that before, but I guess it makes sense.  They are our personal angels and our soul is immortal and they communicate on a spiritual level, so it seems logical – at least the way he put it.  But really, if they are indeed our own personal angel, would God recycle them for someone else?  Doesn’t seem to make sense.  Anyway, this made me reflect on my neglect of my guardian angel.

I go through times of ebbs and flows in devotion to my guardian angel.  When I was homeschooling, my girls and I would pray the Guardian Angel prayer every morning as part of our morning offering.  As I switched to a more “adult” morning offering, I dropped the prayer – but no more.  Guardian angels are our best offense and defense in the moment.  All we have to do is call on them.

Many of us know the traditional prayer “Angel of God, my guardian dear, to whom God’s love commits me here, ever this day, be at my side to light and guard, to rule and guide.”  So I thought I’d poke around to see what other prayers might be out there, and there’s a bunch.  (below)

So today, I encourage you to recommit yourself to getting in touch with your Guardian Angel and to turn to your angel with confident supplication for assistance.  I know I will.

We adore You, O Christ, and we bless You because by Your Holy Cross You have redeemed the world  Anne

A MOTHER’S PRAYER TO THE GUARDIAN ANGELS OF HER CHILDREN

I humbly salute you, O you faithful, heavenly Friends of my children! I give you heartfelt thanks for all the love and goodness you show them. At some future day I shall, with thanks more worthy than I can now give, repay your care for them, and before the whole heavenly court acknowledge their indebtedness to your guidance and protection. Continue to watch over them. Provide for all their needs of body and soul. Pray, likewise, for me, for my husband, and my whole family, that we may all one day rejoice in your blessed company.
Amen.

A Guardian Angel Prayer for Friends

Guardian Angel,
watch over those whose names you can read in my heart.
Guard over them with every care
and make their way easy and their labors fruitful.
Dry their tears if they weep;
sanctify their joys;
raise their courage if they weaken;
restore their hope if they lose heart,
their health if they be ill,
truth if they err,
repentance if they fail.

Prayer for God’s Guidance

Father in Heaven,
You made me Your child
and called me to walk in the Light of Christ.
Free me from darkness
and keep me in the Light of Your Truth.
The Light of Jesus has scattered
the darkness of hatred and sin.
Called to that Light,
I ask for Your guidance.
Form my life in Your Truth,
my heart in Your Love.
Through the Holy Eucharist,
give me the power of Your Grace
that I may walk in the Light of Jesus
and serve Him faithfully.  Amen.

Guardian Angel Prayer by Saint Gertrude

O most holy angel of God,
appointed by God to be my guardian,
I give you thanks for all the benefits
which you have ever bestowed on me
in body and in soul.
I praise and glorify you
that you condescended to assist me
with such patient fidelity,
and to defend me against all the assaults of my enemies.
Blessed be the hour in which
you were assigned me for my guardian,
my defender and my patron.
In acknowledgement and return
for all your loving ministries to me,
I offer you the infinitely precious
and noble heart of Jesus,
and firmly purpose to obey you henceforward,
and most faithfully to serve my God.  Amen

A Prayer to Holy Guardian Angels

Heavenly Father,
Your infinite love for us has chosen a blessed angel in heaven
and appointed him our guide during this earthly pilgrimage.
Accept our thanks for so great a blessing.
Grant that we may experience the assistance
of our holy protector in all our necessities.
And you, holy, loving angel and guide,
watch over us with all the tenderness of your angelic heart.
Keep us always on the way that leads to heaven,
and cease not to pray for us
until we have attained our final destiny, eternal salvation.
Then we shall love You for all eternity.
We shall praise and glorify You unceasingly
for all the good You have done for us while here on earth.
Especially be a faithful and watchful protector of our children.
Take our place, and supply what may be wanting to us
through human frailty, short-sightedness, or sinful neglect.
Lighten, O you perfect servants of God, our heavy task.
Guide our children,
that they may become like unto Jesus,
may imitate Him faithfully,
and persevere till they attain eternal life. Amen

Leave a Reply

Categories

