Posted by: liturgicalyear | December 15, 2011

The Bridge to Heaven

Tuesday evening, I was reading my Magnificat and turned to the meditation for the day, written by one of my favorite saints, Saint Catherine of Siena.  It struck me as such a beautiful Advent theme, the mercy of God extended to us through the birth of His Son, that I just wanted to share it with you.   I beg your indulgence, especially if you read it on Tuesday.

In our present day as Catholics, especially as Theology of the Body Catholics, we take for granted the concept of being made in God’s image and likeness.  That’s how it was “from the beginning”.   But, this passage really made me ponder the effect of Adam’s sin and the great gift that God had planned from the beginning, way back in Genesis, to reconcile us – his Son, Jesus.  The depth of love blows me away.  I feel so small, so grateful, so humble.

I invite you to ponder this mystery anew today, and bring the glory of His name into the world for the salvation of souls.

God the Father to Saint Catherine:

Understand my children, that the road had been so broken up by Adam’s sin and disobedience that none of you could reach your destination. And so my truth was not being realized, the truth that I had created you in my own image and likeness so that you would have eternal life, sharing in and enjoying me, supreme eternal Goodness.  This sin sprouted thorns and brambles in the form of many difficulties, along with a river continually dashing with its waves.  And that is why I have given you my Son as a bridge, so that you won’t drown while crossing the river.  But open your mind’s eye, and see how this bridge reaches from heaven down to earth.  Certainly, if it were of the earth it could never be made long enough to span the river and give you life.  So [my Son] joined the height of heaven, the divine nature, with the earth of your human nature.  You must therefore, keep to this bridge by seeking the glory of my name in the salvation of souls, by enduring all your labors and pain, by following in the footsteps of the gentle loving Word.  You are my workers, whom I have set to work in the vineyard of the holy Church because I want to be merciful to the world.

O Come, O Come, Emmanuel!  Anne

Leave a Reply

Categories

