Posted by: liturgicalyear | November 10, 2011

A lapbook for CCD students to learn more about the new translation of the Mass

In my last post, we looked at some of the aspects of the new translation of the Roman Missal, better known as the new translation of the Mass.

Today, I have for you a lapbook that I put together as an example of what you might use with your CCD students or in your home with your children.  Lapbooks get tricky to explain.  I’m hopeful that a picture will be worth 1,000 words!

Here is a picture of the outside cover of the lapbook.

Basically what I did is looked at the topics on the USCCB’s website regarding the new translation and then chose some to teach.

I started by creating minibooks.   Minibooks are simply folded paper.  The cover has a question or topic on the front with an answer or information on the topic written by the student on the inside flap.

One of the easiest ways to discuss the changes is to talk about what’s different.  A simple approach is a straightforward compare and contrast.  The minibooks contain the content of what’s different.  I created 4 “compare & contrast” minibooks.  The topics are:  Tradition with a “T” vs. tradition with a “t”, and the old and new versions of the Confiteor, the Gloria, and the Creed.  I used a basic 2-flap minibook.

On the inside of each flap, I simply cut & pasted the prayers right from the USCCB website.  Very simple to do.  Your students can cut and paste or write it themselves.   These minibooks will provide an excellent opportunity to discuss the meaning of each of the prayers.

I addressed some basic questions using another set of minibooks.  Why a new translation?  What is being changed?  Who is making the changes?  When will the be implemented?  Simple “matchbook” minibooks did the trick.  The outside contains the question and the inside will contain the answer.

The next thing I did was take a regular manila type folder and fold the sides into the middle following these instructions:  Making the outer portion of lap book

Once the folder is transformed into its new shape, I taped the minibooks to the inside of the folder.

Here’s what the inside looks like when it’s all assembled:

Close it up & decorate the outside.

I use the computer because it’s just easier for me.  The only thing I can draw is a conclusion, so lettering and clip art work well for me.  Your students can write everything by hand, color, and create in whatever way works best.

In this lapbook, I looked at the parts of the Mass that are different in the people’s prayers.  There’s also a whole bunch of changes for the priest’s part of the mass as well.  You could create a lapbook using the same approach with that content.

Lapbooks are a fun and more interesting way to engage children in the learning process.  Depending on the age of your students, you can be a simple or complex as necessary to teach them and to invite them into worship.

Let us prayerfully approach this new change and be grateful for its gift.

Holy Souls in Purgatory, Pray for us!  Anne

I’ve provided links to some of the files I used.  Doc files can be modified to put in whatever content you are teaching.  Note sometimes the .doc files act a little weird.  If Word is already up, you may have to click over to it.

Coming soon (.doc)

Coming soon (.pdf)

Compare & Contrast words (.doc)

Compare & Contrast words (.pdf)

Compare & Contrast cover (.doc – you can modify this based on your topic)

Content (.doc – this is the Confiteor – new & old versions.  Fit your text into these boxes & they’ll fit perfectly in the minibook)

Instructions for printing compare (.pdf)

Why What Who When matchbooks (.doc – you can modify this based on your topic)

pics (.pdf – you can also use your own)

Responses

  1. Anne: This is an excellent resource idea! Thanks for doing all of the work for us! I am passing this on to my parish DRE, though I think she may already be reading this blog 😉 Sheila

    • Thanks, Sheila. I hope it bears fruit! Anne


Leave a Reply

Categories

