Posted by: liturgicalyear | October 18, 2011

Saint Luke and the server crash

Good morning! 

Just as I was about to publish today’s post on Saint Luke, wordpress.com decided to go down for maintenance.  I mean, literally, after spending about 2 hours of writing and having saved drafts along the way, I was about 5 minutes from completion when the server crashed.  When it returned, it rolled me back to my first draft which I started 2 days ago.  None of the versions saved this morning were recoverable.

So, I write to ask your pardon for my lack of a post on St. Luke, but it will just have to be so.  My window of opportunity has closed, and duty elsewhere calls.  I guess God has something else in mind today – maybe my growing in patience!

I did run across an excellent article from Catholic Online about his life and a beautiful prayer to St. Luke (below).  May God bless you with St. Luke’s intercession today!

St. Luke, pray for us!  Anne

Prayer to St. Luke (Patron Saint of Physicians)

St. Luke the Evangelist was author of the Gospel of Luke and the Acts of the Apostles. He is the patron saint of physicians, surgeons, students, butchers, and artists.  The Feast of St. Luke is celebrated on 18th October.

Most charming and saintly Physician, you were animated by the heavenly Spirit of love. In faithfully detailing the humanity of Jesus, you also showed his divinity and his genuine compassion for all human beings. Inspire our physicians with your professionalism. And with divine compassion for their patients, enable them to cure the ills of both body and spirit that afflict so many of our day.  Amen.  (Source)

Leave a Reply

Categories

