Posted by: liturgicalyear | April 22, 2011

Good Friday, the day of great mercy

Today we remember the greatest act of mercy the world has ever known:  Jesus, God become man, innocent and without sin, died so the guilty could be free.  The older I get, and the more I see my own sin and the sin of the world, the more convinced I am that all we have before God is the mercy of Jesus. 

I’ve heard it said that mercy is when we get what we don’t deserve, and justice is when we get what we do deserve.  I plead mercy!

Today, Good Friday, marks the beginning of the Divine Mercy Novena, a beautiful devotion to the mercy of God given to St. Faustina.  Jesus appeared to this Polish nun in 1931 and revealed His desire for her to spread devotion to his mercy throughout the whole world.  On February 22, 1931, she wrote in her diary:

“In the evening, when I was in my cell, I became aware of the Lord Jesus clothed in a white garment. One hand was raised in blessing, the other was touching the garment at the breast. From the opening of the garment at the breast there came forth two large rays, one red and the other pale. In silence I gazed intently at the Lord; my soul was overwhelmed with fear, but also with great joy. After a while Jesus said to me, ‘paint an image according to the pattern you see, with the inscription: Jesus, I trust in You.'”

Some time later, Our Lord again spoke to her:

“The pale ray stands for the Water which makes souls righteous; the red ray stands for the Blood which is the life of souls. These two rays issued forth from the depths of My most tender Mercy at that time when My agonizing Heart was opened by a lance on the Cross….Fortunate is the one who will dwell in their shelter, for the just hand of God shall not lay hold of him.” (Source: EWTN)

On each day of the novena, preferably at 3:00pm, the Hour of Mercy, we pray the Chaplet of Divine Mercy for different groups of people.  The novena concludes on the first Sunday after Easter with the celebration of the great Feast of Divine Mercy.  Jesus attaches tremendous promises to those who trust in His mercy and who pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet. The Church grants a plenary indulgence on Mercy Sunday.

I invite you to join me in praying the Divine Mercy Novena, praying for the Lord’s “mercy on us and on the whole world.” 

We adore you, O Christ, and we bless You, because by Your Holy Cross You have redeemed the world.  Anne

Food for thought:  A few excerpts from St. Faustina’s diary

You will prepare the world for My final coming. (Diary 429) 

Speak to the world about My mercy … It is a sign for the end times. After it will come the Day of Justice. While there is still time, let them have recourse to the fountain of My mercy.  (Diary 848) 

Tell souls about this great mercy of Mine, because the awful day, the day of My justice, is near. (Diary 965).   Read more

Leave a Reply

Categories

