Posted by: liturgicalyear | July 18, 2010

Heaven

Several years ago, I went with a friend to hear Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony.  The last song is a familiar one to all of us:  “Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee”.  As I sat there listening to a full orchestra and about a 100 voice choir sing, pure delight consumed me.  It was like I had heard it for the first time.  Then I thought, “Imagine what it must have been like to actually hear it for the first time.”  I pondered how the first listeners in 1824 would have received it.  Was their delight the same as mine?  Did they hear it with the same beauty I heard at Symphony Hall?  My imagination wandered.   Then my thoughts shifted to, “Imagine what the music must be like in heaven!”

Have you ever thought about that?  The most beautiful music we have ever heard on this earth is a mere reflection of the glory of the music in heaven.  I must say, when I think about it, I get really psyched!  I mean, can you imagine?  WOW!!!!!  Even as I type, a great big smile adorns my face.  I’m not in a hurry, but I can’t wait to hear it!

All earthly beauty images God.  It is all a shadow of his glory.  Stop and think about that for just a minute.  Think about the most amazing things you’ve experienced on this earth:

  • The most beautiful work of art you’ve ever seen
  • The most splendid of sunsets you’ve watched go down
  • The most powerful storm you’ve witnessed
  • The most majestic of mountains you’ve gazed at in awe
  • The sweetest smelling flower you’ve ever smelled
  • The most delicious food you’ve ever tasted
  • The softest kitten you’ve ever touched
  • The deepest belly laugh you’ve ever laughed
  • The most intimate moment you’ve had with another person
  • The most tender time you’ve spent with a child

All of it is a mere reflection of what await us in heaven. 

Heaven.   Do you ever stop and contemplate heaven?  Wonder what it’s like?  How it will feel?  Who you’ll see?  What will matter? 

When my nephew was about 5 years old he announced to my sister, “When we get to heaven we’ll be so happy, we won’t even care that we’re dead!”

Sometimes I think that what Jesus meant when He said we must become like a little child is for us to become one with expectant faith who believes whole-heartedly in God’s promises and that heaven is a real place where God lives & that He wants us there with him forever. 

That’s what God wants for us – for us to be with Him forever in heaven.  That’s what we want for ourselves.  That’s what we want for our children. 

So today, and in days ahead, stop and think about heaven.  Ask the Holy Spirit to help your desire for heaven to grow.   Write the word “heaven” on a piece of paper & tape it above your kitchen sink or on your bathroom mirror.  Let it serve as a reminder that heaven is our true home and that we need to live each moment being mindful of that fact –so that we will choose love, mercy, and humility in each thought and action of our day.

 “No eye has seen.  No ear has heard.  No mind can know what God has in store for those who love Him.”  (1Cor2:9)

 May God bless you and keep you,  Anne

Responses

  1. Anne, as I read this I could just imagine you writing it with a peaceful, beautiful smile on your face.

    • Yeah…..& a sparkle in my eye. You know me well.

  2. I recently read, “90 Minutes in Heaven by Don Piper, and his account of the music he hears in heaven is just amazing. It makes me think of how important your lesson is here, Anne, that we should be thinking of what heaven is like and the music is such a part of what we will certainly experience! Thanks for sharing this religious insight!

  3. […] – part 2 A few weeks ago, I wrote about Heaven.  In it, I posed:  “Do you ever stop and contemplate heaven?  Wonder what it’s like?  How […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

