Posted by: liturgicalyear | July 10, 2010

Every Hair is Counted

Today’s gospel reading is from Matthew chapter 10:24-33.   From it comes one of the more well-known bible quotes, “Even all the hairs of your head are counted.” (Mt 10:30)  This numbering suggests a deep intimacy, that God knows us better than we know ourselves.  And that He loves us beyond our wildest dreams.  I often wonder how many of us actually live in this truth.

Personally, I go in & out of that reality.  I have had times of deep heartfelt tears just streaming from my eyes, overwhelmed by the awesomeness of that love.  I have had times of deep desperation, overwhelmed by fear and doubt of that love.  Sometimes I can feel that God is so big & “out there” that He couldn’t possibly be interested in how many hairs are on my head.  But the wonderful truth is that He is big enough and small enough – big enough to create the universe and small enough to be close to me…and to you.

So how do we draw closer to living with the knowledge and security that we are so valued & loved?  Here are a few of the things that have helped me.  I share them with you from my heart.

Pray the psalms:  You will encounter every human struggle and joy in the psalms.

“Praise the Lord, O my soul.” (Ps 146)
“Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits.”  (Ps 103)
“Give thanks to the Lord for He is good, for His mercy endures forever.” (Ps 136)
“Out of the depths I cry unto You, O Lord.  Lord, hear my voice in supplication” (Ps 130)
“Hasten to answer me, O Lord, for my spirit fails me.”  (Ps 143)
“Teach me to do your will, for you are my God.” (Ps 143)
“Teach me to number my days aright that I may gain wisdom of heart.” (Ps 90)
 “Incline your ear to me; in the day when I call, answer me speedily.”  (Ps 102)
“I believed, even when I said, ‘I am greatly afflicted.’” (Ps 116)
“What return can I make to the Lord for the he has done for me?”  (Ps 116)
“Wait for the Lord with courage, be stouthearted and wait for the Lord.” (Ps 27)
“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.”  (Ps 23)

Read the gospels and meditate on that which touches you.  Jesus shows us the Father’s love by what He says and does in the gospels.  “The Father and I are one” (Jn 10:30) “He who sees me sees the Father.” (Jn 14:9) What did Jesus do?  He made the lame walk, gave sight to the blind, cured lepers, raised the dead to life, and above all, forgave sins.  Each one of us could be the person in one of those gospels.  What do we need to see?  How are we unable to walk and reach out?  How are we “unclean”?  God wants us to be raised to new life with Him – in this world and in the next.  Place yourself in those meditations and ask the Holy Spirit to help you to know & understand what God wants to show you.

Pray the rosary:  I can only speak from experience on this one, but something happens when you pray the rosary.  Our Lady draws us into a closer relationship with Jesus through this prayer.  And Jesus brings us to the Father.

Listen to Christian music:  I sing.  It is part of the fabric of my being.  There are times when only music can express what I’m feeling.  Songs of praise lift my heart and soul to heaven.  Some songs become my prayer when my words cannot adequately express my heart.  On days when I’m just plain crabby or not quite as chipper as I ought to be, I’ll put on some good music to lift me & to remind me just whose I am.

Continually turning our gaze, our hearts and our minds to heaven helps to lead to a deeper friendship with God.  The kind where we know so much about each other that we can almost finish each other’s sentences.  The kind where we know that He knows how many hairs are on our head.

“But I will call this to mind, as my reason to have hope: The favors of the LORD are not exhausted, his mercies are not spent; They are renewed each morning, so great is his faithfulness. “(Lam 3:21-23)  Anne

 Heavenly Harmony:  Small Enough by Nichole Nordeman

Leave a Reply

Categories

