Posted by: liturgicalyear | June 20, 2010

The Greatest of Fathers

My husband can fix anything. 

It fascinates me to see how my girls take something broken & say, “Papa can fix it.”  Usually he can.  They have complete & utter confidence in him.   This got me to thinking.

Do we have the same confidence in our heavenly Father?  Do we go to Him with what is broken and know that He can fix it?

I know for myself this is not always the case.   There are times when I do, and times when I don’t. 

At an early age we are vulnerable, completely dependent, and we learn whom we can trust.  We know who holds us, feeds us, & picks us up.  As time goes on and our needs change, we come to know who we can depend on, and we keep those people on our short list.  Is God there?

I thought about my childhood conceptions of God & how little they resemble Who He really is.  God was up there, removed, away from me, sitting in judgment, waiting for me to mess up, so he could point His finger at me & say, “Bad move.”  The “God is love” thing kind of escaped me. 

This perspective holds us back in immeasurable ways.  God IS love!  We can live in that confidence.  The question is “How?”

Living in that confidence is a conscious act of faith which says, “I believe You are who You say You are and that You love me and have my best interests at heart.  I will trust you.”  It doesn’t mean we always understand, but we submit to – that is, put ourselves under the mission of – the One who sees the whole weaving of our life & knows what is best for us. 

The lyrics from “All My Heart” by Twila Paris says, “Only You go with me to the secret places I would never dare to go alone.  And You walk with me.  And You talk with me.  And I listen closely for the quiet wind.”  If we invite Him, He does go with us to those places, and if we ask Him, He will make them whole.   Created free, it is up to us to invite Him.  He does not barge in.  He waits patiently, as a loving father waits for his child to come to him.  Then, when we ask, He sends to Holy Spirit to heal those broken places.

On our part, it is a decision.  Like Jesus on the cross, it is a “Yes” that makes us die to ourselves.   Like Our Lady, it is a “Yes” that gives life.  It is a yes to the truest of Fathers.   It is a yes to the best superglue there is – the pure love of the One who hold the tiniest of cells and the greatest of galaxies together.  The One who knows how many hairs are on our heads.

So today, as we remember our fathers, let us first and foremost remember the love of our Heavenly Father.  Let us invite him into the secret places and trust that He will make them whole.

In His love,  Anne

Heavenly Harmony:  Some music for your heart and soul.   The refrain of this song is “Come to the Father…” so I found it fitting for the day.  ‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus  and The Warrior is a Child/Do I Trust You, Lord?  may speak to you as they did me.

“I came so that they might have life and have it more abundantly.”  John 10:10

Leave a Reply

Categories

