Posted by: liturgicalyear | June 2, 2010

Eucharistic Miracles

This Sunday we will celebrate the great Feast of Corpus Christi.  It is one of my favorites.  I think it is so because I struggled in believing this Truth of the Faith. 

I remember my mom telling me when I was a teenager that Catholics believe that Jesus is truly present body, blood, soul, & divinity in the Eucharist; that it is the body of Christ.  I responded something like, “You’re kidding me.”  Quite honestly, I was never taught that in my CCD classes & I think my parents must have thought I had because I don’t ever remember hearing it from them until I was about 16 or 17. 

At that point, my faith was cultural, so buying into that doctrine didn’t gel for me.  I just kind of moved on.  I joined the 70% of Catholics who didn’t believe.

In my mid- to late-twenties I started to take my faith more seriously and prayed to embrace this teaching.  I read about it & understood the biblical foundations & the Church teachings, but it was a long way from my head to my heart.

Two things really helped me

  1. Receiving frequent communion.  I started going to daily Mass, & the grace of the sacrament watered those seeds of desire.
  2. Stories of Eucharistic miracles. 

So as we head into Corpus Christi, I’d like to share some of these stories with you in the links below.  Some of them may be familiar to you, & some may be new.  Take some time to read & watch asking the Holy Spirit to fill your heart with a burning love for Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament.  Tell your children about them, and if you teach CCD for the First Holy Communion children, be sure to tell them next year as you prepare them to receive this most wonderful gift.

Scroll down & see Eucharistic Miracles by country & by saints.    

One of the most studied miracles, the Eucharistic miracle at Lanciano

Eucharistic miracles going back to the 3rd -5th centuries  

Video of Eucharistic miracle in Venezuela   The broken bread of the Eucharist, consecrated during the Mass, suddenly begins to bleed. It is conserved in a tabernacle and when venerated begins to pulse like a human heart…

 Video discussion of some of the more well known miracles

Eucharistic miracle in Methuen, Mass.

I think these are truly amazing!  Anne

Responses

  1. The last video you posted — re Methuen Mass — is truly amazing. i will enjoy reading/seeing the others you posted. thank you.

  2. I had never heard about the Eucharistic miracle in Methuen and I live in the next town!!
    Thank you for posting this information.

    • I, too, live nearby. I heard rumblings of it several years ago, but never heard any more until I ran across this video. I was psyched! I hope the Church is investigating & that it will be approved. God is really awesome! Anne


Leave a Reply

Categories

