Posted by: liturgicalyear | May 30, 2010

Honoring the Blessed Trinity

In the name of the Father, and of the Son…

If you ever want to quiet a Catholic crowd, say these words really loudly!  The crowd quiets.  Their hands reach for their foreheads, their heads bow, and they continue, “… and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.”

It is probably one of the first prayers we learned and one of the first we teach our children.  I can still remember teaching my girls to touch their left shoulder first, helping their tiny hands to find the proper place on their bodies.  Children watch & they want to copy the adults.  We teach the sign to our children, but teaching them the meanings is a bit more tricky.

Today we celebrate the Feast of the Holy Trinity, that tricky mystery that is foundational to our faith.  It is not mentioned anywhere by name in the bible.  But one God in three persons has been there since the beginning. 

How can we honor the Blessed Trinity in the ins & outs of our daily duty and make that sign of the cross and those words less rote?  I’d like to make 3 suggestions:

Begin the day with the sign of the cross.  Many mornings after the alarm sounds while I’m still laying in bed & before I barely open my eyes, I make the sign of the cross & consecrate the day to the Blessed Trinity.  I find that, in spite of my sleepiness, this simple action stirs up a keenness in me about my union with the Trinity.

Use holy water to bless yourself and recall your baptism into the Blessed Trinity.  Bless your home.  My grandmother used to bless her home & remind us to do the same regularly.  She always had holy water on hand, as do I.  It’s been a while since I’ve blessed my home, sprinkling each room with holy water & blessing it in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.  I will do it today & get back to making it a regular practice. 

Choose love.  The trinity is an eternal communion of life-giving love.  We give the greatest honor to the Blessed Trinity when we love.  Made in God’s image & likeness, we are called by our baptism to share in that love – to share in it & to share it. 

I’d love to hear other suggestions or practices you might have to honor the Blessed Trinity – Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Wishing you peace, Anne

Some special prayers to honor the day:  Prayer to the Holy Trinity &  Act of consecration to the Blessed Trinity

Responses

  1. thanks for this thoughtful post. we have a beautiful statue of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit on display. it helps the teaching part for our child to see what it all looks like! I was a little surprised actually to find it. I can’t ever recall seeing a picture of Gof the Father! and this statue has the Father right there next to Jesus. I will be posting about it soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

