Posted by: liturgicalyear | July 19, 2011

Finding the Christ Child in the moment

Before Mass this morning, I had the opportunity to spend time in my Magnificat.  Today’s meditation was so touching, I just had to share it with you.  My apologies to those of you who have already read it in your morning prayer.  I invite you to drink it in once again.  It comes from Reed of God by Caryll Houselander, page 150:

We know by faith that Christ is in our own family; it is He whom we foster in our children.  When you tell your child a story, when you play a game with your little son, you tell a story, you play a game with the Christ Child. 

One of our commonest natural experiences of the sense of loss is tiredness:  it empties us out; it is almost as if we had let the infant fall from our hands. 

It is useless to flog a tired mind, useless to reproach a tired heart; the only way to God, when we are tired out, is the simplest wordless act of faith.

A woman too weary for articulate prayer will find that for her the best of all prayer is the unspoken act of faith in Christ in her children.  When she knows that she is setting the table and baking the cake for the Christ Child, her soul will be at rest.

When Our Lady’s little boy tumbled and grazed his knees, what acts of faith she must have made as she bated them – faith like that which enabled her to believe, when she saw the Son of God fall beneath the cross and could not pick him up. 

Awareness of the presence of the Divine Child in us draws us off from every distracting and destructive preoccupation, such as self-pity, anxiety, irritability with other people, the morbidity which leads us to dwell more upon our own sinfulness than upon the beauty of god. 

In the wonder of these awareness, we are able to accept the humiliation of being ourselves.

Mary, Mother of Mercy, pray for us!  Anne

Responses

  1. Beautiful, Anne! Thank you for posting this.
    I was praying the other day, for the grace of contentment, as I realized that my mind was constantly jumping from future activity to activity, from schedule to schedule, even in the midst of today’s tasks.
    I discovered that contentment begins with being grateful. And then I learned that contentment doesn’t focus on “self” but on God, and others. I learned that by reaching out to others, beginning of course with those that God has given me to love, that my racing mind slows down, and I discover the joy of finding Christ in them. (:

  2. […] my last post, I shared with you a reflection from Tuesday’s Magnificat on finding the Christ Child in the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

