Posted by: liturgicalyear | April 7, 2011

The Virtues & the 7 Deadly Sins

Earlier in Lent, I wrote a post about the Virtues. For weeks now, I’ve been wanting to follow-up with a hands-on activity for students of all ages.  Today, I finally pulled it together. 

When I was homeschooling my children, we would often make lapbooks  (sometimes called “foldables”)  as a way to spice up learning.  Instead of just filling out a worksheet or writing a report about something, I would ask the kids to make a lapbook.  We used it on everything from the periodic table to Mesopotamia with lots in between.   The kids like it because it’s a creative and different way to learn and communicate their learning.  When they’re done, they’ve got something pretty cool to show off.  I like it because it helps engage them more in the learning process.

In light of all this, I put together a lapbook on the Virtues and the Seven Deadly Sins.   I see this as being particularly applicable for Confirmation-aged and middle school aged students.

It’s pretty straightforward.  The main part of the lapbook is a folder which has been folded with ends towards the middle.  On the outside is the title.  On the inside are “minibooks”. 

Each minibook is a 3.5″ x 5″ piece of paper folded in half and taped to the inside of a folder.  On the front of each minibook is the name of one of the virtues or deadly sins.  Inside the student will write a definition or what they understand the virtue or vice to be.  They can also give an example to illustrate the topic.  The conversation surrounding this activity could be terrific.  Sometimes when the hands are busy, the conversation flows more easily.

You don’t have to print the minibooks out on a printer.  Simply cutting the paper & writing on the front by hand is sufficient.  I just use the computer because it’s easiest for me.  If you’re interested in making one of these lapbooks, you can read the instructions here.  I’ve also included a file with the layouts for the minibooks.  Simply load 3 sheets of one color paper on top of another 3 sheets of a different color, and print away.  

When I would do lapbooks in a group setting, I usually gave each student a “kit”, a ziploc bag with everything they needed to complete the lapbook – folder, minibooks, tape, instructions, etc.  Of course, this was more work for me, but it meant that the student could spend their time on the content and not on cutting and asking questions like, “What do I cut next?”

So today, I pass this along to you as a way to spice up your CCD or at-home class.  I hope you and your students enjoy it!

We adore you, O Christ, and we bless You because by Your Holy Cross You have redeemed the world.  Anne

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

