Posted by: liturgicalyear | July 2, 2010

The Precious Blood of Jesus

The Church dedicates each month of the year to a different devotion.  This month, the month of July, is devoted to the Precious Blood of Jesus.

I don’t know about you, but there’s something extra special about receiving the Eucharist under both species.  My parish suspended giving out the precious blood during the winter time due to swine flu fears.  I really missed it.  When it was restored during the warmer months, I felt complete.   What was lacking had been restored.  I also just love going to a daily Mass where the Precious Blood is offered.  Something about it leaves me with a greater satisfaction.

It’s kind of puzzling to me, this whole way I feel about it because the feeling is totally separate from the faith.  Jesus is truly present – body, blood, soul, & divinity – under both species.  So in the Eucharistic host, his Precious Blood is present.  In His Precious Blood, His body is present. 

They’re not distinct, but in some way, for our human senses, they are. 

And yet, for our human senses they are not. 

How is the glass of cabernet I drink at dinner any different from the wine I receive at Mass?  Substantially, it isn’t.  Transubstantially it is.  It rises above our human experience, because it is divine. 

It has everything to do with sacrifice:  the sacrifice of Abel, the sacrifice of Melchizidek, the sacrifice of Abraham, and the greatest sacrifice of Jesus, the Great High Priest, offering himself, his sacrificial blood, as both priest and victim on the cross.  With that sacrifice comes the promise of salvation. 

Jesus’ sacrifice paid a debt He didn’t owe because we had a debt we couldn’t pay.  His sacrifice atones for our sin and so it is right and holy that we should set aside time to mark time, in our liturgical year, in gratitude for the gift. 

Growing up, my grandmother always told me, “Cover yourself with the blood of Jesus” to thwart away the attacks of the enemy.  She was a great advocate of spiritual warfare, and she believed deeply in the power of the Precious Blood.

She was right.  Her witness of faith was passed on to this one of her grandchildren who prays every day “Precious blood of Jesus, save us” when making her morning offering. 

So this month, let us join the universal Church in thanksgiving for this indescribable gift & set aside the month in devotion to the Precious Blood by praying:

LORD Jesus by faith in Your merits, I now take Your Precious Blood and sprinkle it over myself and my family right from the crown of my head to the very soles of my feet. I claim total and complete protection for my life and my family. Lord Jesus, keep me free today from evil, sin, temptation, Satan’s attacks and afflictions, fear of darkness, fear of man, sickness, diseases, doubts, anger, all calamities and from all that is not of Your Kingdom.

FILL me Lord Jesus with the gifts of Your Holy Spirit and grant me the gifts of wisdom, knowledge, faith, understanding and discernment, so that I will live today in Your Glory by doing what is right.

I praise You Jesus, I thank You Jesus,

I love You Jesus, I adore You Jesus   (Source)

“For those who do not believe, no explanation is possible.  For those who do, no explanation is necessary.”

Praying for the protection of the Precious Blood of Jesus upon you, those you love, upon that which you hold dear, upon our Church and upon our country,  Anne 

Recommended to your prayers – The Litany of the Precious Blood

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

